Time flies when having fun - Reisverslag uit Blantyre, Malawi van Joost Hoogenboom - WaarBenJij.nu Time flies when having fun - Reisverslag uit Blantyre, Malawi van Joost Hoogenboom - WaarBenJij.nu

Time flies when having fun

Door: Joost Hoogenboom

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joost

25 Oktober 2015 | Malawi, Blantyre

Another week has gone by already! Time really flies when having fun. Last week has gone by really fast! It was a week full of doing not a lot but still get a lot further in my research. I stayed at Doogles on Monday because my stomach was fighting a battle against Sunday's chicken. The stomach won in the long run, but thats not the point. At doogles, I was able to ask the crew a number of questions about spirituality and (rain)cults. It turns out that the parents of the managers are both members of the M'bona cult, which is really helpful for my research. I went back to work in the archives on Tuesday with a focus on the boxes labelled religion. This brought a few new insights, for example that Monotheism was not a new thing to the local people. The old religion so to say also knew a monotheistic tradition; with one high god and several spirits, all ancestors. When I was at the archives on Thursday, I met a local pastor who also studies the cult and gave me some usefull contacts. But what he told me was nothing compared to the person I met Friday. I was able to get a meeting with mr. D. D. Phiri, a renounced writer and someone who lived through the drought of 1949. He was able to give me quite a number of insights and information on the drought, amazing!

Saturday was matchday in Africa, South Africa against the New Zealand All Blacks in the Rugby worldcup and it was intense. Doogles was divided in two camps of supporters:around 20/25 South African supporters and a total of 1 (one) All Black supporter. The game was very exciting and intense with a very close result; New Zealand beat South Africa with 20 to 18; which means that one penaltykick would have been sufficient for the South Africans.

Today is administrationday for me and jazznight at Doogles, So I wont get bored. This is all there is for my blog this week, I'll catch up again later :-)

~J

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joost

Hallo, Ik ben joost (Joe voor de niet-nederlanders) en ik hou van reizen. in 2011 was ik in Uganda, in 2013 in Vietnam en in 2015 in Malawi. Welkom op mijn Blog en veel plezier met lezen! :)

Actief sinds 23 Sept. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 815
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3862

Voorgaande reizen:

29 September 2015 - 30 November 2015

Malawi 2015

29 September 2015 - 29 November 2015

Studiereis Malawi 2015

Landen bezocht: