Weekend in Malawi - Reisverslag uit Blantyre, Malawi van Joost Hoogenboom - WaarBenJij.nu Weekend in Malawi - Reisverslag uit Blantyre, Malawi van Joost Hoogenboom - WaarBenJij.nu

Weekend in Malawi

Door: Joost Hoogenboom

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joost

04 Oktober 2015 | Malawi, Blantyre

The second day is a day of getting things done and actually start with the research. Waking up early was not that hard, waking up very early was sadly quite harder. After waking up is of course a shower; well here is my shower story. Well; you know that showers leak their water divergent ^; mine is that divergent that if I stand in the middle, I stay completely dry xD. But back to topic. I went into town by myself after breakfast to try to get money this time. This time I succeeded and got a Malawi phone number! For the people who want to become broke because of calling me; my number is +265 9983 461 57. After the stroll back I went swimming for the first time! Great pool, clean and according to the feeling in my eyes, pretty well chlorinated. Now it's back to study… :c Day two ended in a nice party at the lodge where I was staying. The South African artists I met were performing on the stage and it was a hell of a show. They had a lot of fun and were able to bring that over on the audience.

Friday was a day of party DJ Fosta of the South African crew had to perfom on the opening night of the Blantyre Arts Festival so they went there together and invited me with them. The night was a blast! We saw a lot of different groups, including the Black Missionaries. They are said to be legendary in Malawi. A promise which they kept. We had a lot of fun there with good food and a great atmosphere. Too bad it only started to get crowded when Fosta started playing, while he was the semi-last artist.

Saturday was a nice day as well. We did not go to the festival, but we decided to have a big barbecue at the hostel with a lot of other guests. Everyone put in some money and we all had a task of getting things needed. I was planning to go to the big store anyways so I was given the task of getting the coals. Before we went anywhere we hiked through the valley instead of going along the main road. We ended up at a very nice coffee place, pictures soon to follow. After the lunch, I did my thing and went to the grocery store to get the coals. Guess What? No coals sadly. This was eventually fixed by already having a little bit of coal present and using wood. The barbecue itself was a nice party with very good meat.

Today is another day of leisure and having fun. We are going to the Blantyre Arts Festival again, because now EY von Lyrik and bFake both are performing. It will be a great party again tonight!

Oh and studywise? Thats going great! I got accepted as a member for the Society of Malawi cultural & scientific archives, so i can use their archives now to do the research I want to do. I am really looking forward to this!
~J

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joost

Hallo, Ik ben joost (Joe voor de niet-nederlanders) en ik hou van reizen. in 2011 was ik in Uganda, in 2013 in Vietnam en in 2015 in Malawi. Welkom op mijn Blog en veel plezier met lezen! :)

Actief sinds 23 Sept. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 192
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3859

Voorgaande reizen:

29 September 2015 - 30 November 2015

Malawi 2015

29 September 2015 - 29 November 2015

Studiereis Malawi 2015

Landen bezocht: